Papa

I think of you every time ‘ol blue eyes

croons his velvet melodies on my

dusty car radio. His cd case lays in pieces

on the floor of the passenger side

among spilt coffee grounds, crumbled bits of leaves,

and a pair of old socks I brought bowling

one time.

 

Remember when I was small enough

to sit propped

between you and the steering wheel of

your little red truck?

Garfield and Odie slid across the windshield while I licked

ribbons of chocolate from my upper lip, giggling

as you put one finger to your wrinkled half smile.

“Don’t tell you Dad, you know he’s got breakfast waiting at home”

 

Now when I put my car into drive, I wish

I was still your first mate in

your little red truck

that rocked and rolled and ran

just like you did when you tossed me into the pond

like a sack of potatoes

and I looked at you like

you were everything.


Leave a comment